Craving Fulfillment

Nourishment for Body and Soul

Sanctify Me November 2, 2010

Filed under: Nourishment for Your Soul — Jane Weber, RD @ 5:25 pm
Tags: ,

As I venture into this world of cyber humbling I recognize I need a firm foundation.  I’ve got my Solid Rock, so freely given and free for the asking to all who come to the Father with a repentant heart.  It’s me that gets in the way of God’s message that He wants me to share with you.

I read this during my time with God this morning.  It’s Jesus praying.

“I have given them your work and the world has hated them because they are not of the world.  I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one.  They are not of this world just as I am not of this world.  Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth.” John 17:14-17

My God foundation is solid; it is me that needs to be refined; sanctified.  I didn’t have a clear understanding of ‘sanctify’ until the author of the devotion quickly defined it as change.  That word, change, makes me silently grown inside and outwardly sigh.  I sigh even as I write this.  Must I grow some more?  Be humbled, some more?  The answer of course, is yes; growing  more Christ-like as we climb towards Heaven.  But, the verse continues on…

Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth.

God has given us His Truth; His Word; His Bible.  So as I am quite frightened to put myself forth into cyber humbling, I go relying on what the Holy Spirit has taught me and is teaching me through words written long ago but relevant today.  And I go trusting Jesus’ prayer of protection.   I don’t know the Bible as well as I should (there is another word that caused a sigh).  I will commit to learning it better and reflecting here.  I’ll make mistakes but that is the humbling that is to

…sanctify me.

I have been  encouraged by Ann Voscamp’s do-today ways to get into scripture that she has gently written at aholyexperience.  As a family, we are trying to read together as the Voscamps have done since their family began.

Last week there also was encouragement for memorizing scripture.   After reading this post I glanced at Shoe Box Scripture Treasures – memory verses for each week of the year.  I received it a week ago from Operation Christmas Child at the Relevant conference.  Since washing the floor was next on the list for the day, I took the first card with me and mopped to the rhythm of Isaiah 9:6.  As an added bonus, our youngest wanted to ‘help’ which of course took longer but then gave me more time to memorize.  It wasn’t long before I heard…

“Why do you have to keep saying those words over and over?”

Isn’t it so like God to not only bless us with His words but those around us?  Here I am washing the floor, memorizing a verse and accidentally being an example to impressionable ears.  It was one of those times when you feel you did some parenting good but you can’t take a smidgen of credit for it.  I’m going to try this tactic again.  You’ll know how clean my floor is by how many verses I know.

Hugs and blessings,

Jane

