Craving Fulfillment

Nourishment for Body and Soul

Giving to Get November 25, 2010

Filed under: Nourishment for Your Soul — Jane Weber, RD @ 10:56 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The last few years we had an advent stocking.  A simple dollar store buy that I put in little treats or treasure hunt notes that the boys and I could have fun with.  Little treats, you know, like those capsules that inflate into sponges in the bathtub or reading the Christmas story together as we put out the nativity scene.  But looking back on last year it became more of a ‘getting’ fest than counting down the days to Christ’s birth.   The little treats no longer held the same appeal.  Of course the boys are getting older but it’s more me expecting a grown up response instead of the kid response I was getting.  And it led to me being disheartened.  Isn’t there a way to have treats without spoiling them because I do so love giving?

This year we will try a different approach.  A giving advent instead of a getting.  We will give to others together and not we give to them.  I don’t know how it will evolve yet but I want the giving to instill in their hearts.  I want them addicted to giving like I am.  I want them to get to the point that they want the joy in their hearts that comes from doing something for someone else.  I guess then it can be a selfish thing…

You give…

…to get…

…the joy.

 

…And remember the words of the Lord Jesus, that He said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’

Acts 20:35

 

*Speaking of giving to get…stay tuned…very soon will be a give away for some beautiful free stuff…so fun!*

 

3 Responses to “Giving to Get”

  1. […] had prepped Dad last night in case I was late again.  “I want to start our giving advent stocking with light.  To get them thinking about how they can be the light of the world.”  I forgot to […]

  2. […] And prayer is the best way to give to get joy. […]

  3. […] It’s the youngest’ turn to decide what we will give for our Giving Advent Calendar. […]


Comments are closed.