Craving Fulfillment

Nourishment for Body and Soul

Priceless Filler December 23, 2010

Filed under: Nourishment for Your Soul — Jane Weber, RD @ 4:56 pm
Tags: , , , ,

If we are honest with ourselves somewhere inside of us is a vacancy.  Knowingly or unknowingly, we search for filler.

 

At Christmas time that vacancy can scream louder.  Even amongst the busyness there is a gnawing that makes us ache.  Feels heavy in our being and makes cheerfulness an effort and we ask why.  What is wrong with me; why can’t I return a smile without effort?

The joy in others can be grating. Deafening almost.


Check your filler.  Is it cheap filler that is fleeting?

This is one of those times I recommend going with the more costly remedy.  Leave the generic on the shelf and go for what is priceless.

How can I explain this without sounding cliché; without having you click away at the first mention of what this filler is.  The thing is…the thing is…at the time when I chose the priceless filler, it was me who smiled a fake smile; the one that felt trapped in a dark spot in life.  Yet when I allowed the vacancy be filled differently that time, I breathed hope.  I inhaled a whiff of joy that I knew would become a breeze if I allowed it.  Refreshing, like one of those springtime breezes that breathes life into a creaky soul, yet with permanence.

 

 

It’s the Christ in Christmas that is my permanent filler.  Going to Him; admitting to Him. Yes, being vulnerable to Him (who are we fooling, really, beyond ourselves).  Asking Him into our Christmas.  Inviting Him to dinner at His own celebration.  And asking Him to stay for eternity.

Christ is waiting for you like a parent waits to catch a wee-one taking the first step.  Arms outstretched, waiting for you to trust.  Waiting because He won’t make you.  It is your call; your control.

But the reward of asking.  The reward of repentance.

 

Vacancy filled.

Joy initiated.

Hope secured.

Peace a certainty.

 

The priceless is Christ; God who condescended as a baby.  Born in a barn to live to be killed.  All according to His plan to erase what we, ourselves, have put in the way of us personally knowing God.

 

All ours for the taking, if we believe, if we repent, and if we ask.

 

When Jesus spoke again to the people, He said, “I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

John 8:12

May God bless you this Christmas.

Hugs and blessings,

Jane

