Craving Fulfillment

Nourishment for Body and Soul

Pre-meal Snacks April 4, 2011

Filed under: Nourishment for Your Body,Nutrition Nibbles,Uncategorized — Jane Weber, RD @ 10:34 pm
Tags: ,

Today’s Nutrition Nibble


“Mom, but I’m hungry!”


Supper is in half an hour and I know they won’t eat any of it, if I give in. I’m not saying this is always smooth but what works for us, is a stick-to-it rule before meals:

 

If you are hungry within an hour of a meal, choose a fruit or vegetable.


Here’s what they reach for (keep in mind choking hazards if you have wee ones):

 

  • Frozen peas or corn
  • The vegetable we are having for supper except raw (and then they don’t have to eat it at meal time)
  • Frozen berries
  • A small box of r aisins
  • Handful of grapes or an apple

 

This gives the boys a bit of control, can get in an extra serving of vegetables or fruit and takes the edge off, so I can get back to getting supper on the table.

 

Hugs and blessings,

Jane

